Home > census, family, Memories > Can you help regarding old residents of Ushaw Moor

Can you help regarding old residents of Ushaw Moor

I am trying to find information regarding two aspects of my family tree which impact upon Ushaw Moor and would appreciate any guidance – either about names , locations or even where you think i may be able to find more ?
1,McCardle family from 1900 onwards
The 1901 census record this family in 1901 in South View Ushaw Moor – though by 1911 they are recorded in Hepple St in New Brancepeth Colliery .
By 1911 Patrick is married to Margaret and they have 4 children : Rosie A ; Alice James and Joseph

I believe Alice went on to marry James McCaffery see next paragraph and died in 1924.
I would be interested in any memories or contact with descendants who can help me flesh things out
2.McCaffery
As mentioned above I belive James (Francis) Mccaffery spent some time mining at Ushaw Moor Colliery amongst other things .Through marriage to Alice McArdle I believe they had two children Gerard and Lawrence Leo and he remarried Jane Craggs in 1926 . I believe they spent some /all the time until 1950’s and James death at/near Ushaw Moor (7 Hall Avenue )

Both James and Jane I believe are buried in St Joseph’s Church but as I don’t live locally its difficult on check
In both situations i would appreciate any memories or contacts I could follow up by email to help me flesh some things out

  1. graham
    March 24, 2013 at 12:15 pm

    http://www.durhamrecordsonline.com/newsearch.php

    wil get you some info on mccaffery etc.

    e.g.
    Philip McCaffery born 1851 Census 1861 Lived at Brancepeth

    RG number:RG09 Piece:3742 Folio:10 Page:13 Reg. District: Durham
    Sub District:4 St Nicholas
    Parish:St Giles

    Sherburn Road, St Giles, Durham
    MCCAFFERY, Philip

    Head

    Married

    M

    35

    1826

    Labourer

    Ireland

    MCCAFFERY, Elizabeth

    Wife

    Married

    F

    32

    1829

    Ireland

    MCCAFFERY, Philip

    Son

    M

    10

    1851

    Brancepeth, Durham

    MCCAFFERY, William

    Son

    M

    7

    1854

    Brancepeth, Durham

    MCCAFFERY, James

    Son

    M

    3

    1858

    Harrington, Cumberland

    MCCAFFERY, Catherine

    Daughter

    F

    0 (6M)

    1861

    Brandon, Durham

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment