Home > family, Memories > Family Search – Carr

Family Search – Carr

I am trying to find decendents of the Carr family. My great grandfather Thomas Carr was living in Ushaw Moor when he died at 18 Dale Street this was in 1903. His son in law John Wm Lambton of 11-Albert Street registered the death.

I have memories of visiting relatives when I was a child which would have been in the late 1940’s early 1950’s.  He had a son Joseph who was my grandfather, he married an Eliza Charlton. Thomas was married to Margaret Wilkinson.  If any one has any information about this family I would be grateful to hear from them.

Mary Andrews

  1. graham hudson
    May 10, 2012 at 8:29 pm

    I have been researching my family tree and have links to the Wilkinson family.
    I have linked to a Margaret Wilkinson and have great grandfathr called wilkinnson.
    Would your Margaret be Margaret Wilkinson, daughter of John Wilkinson and Mary Bland was born in 1904 in Esh Winning, Durham, England.???
    If so I am happy to send you all the ancestors I have found, plus some extra info.
    best regards
    graham

  2. May 11, 2012 at 7:38 am

    Hi Mary and welcome aboard,

    I understand you are researching the Carr family, have you done a search on this BLOG. I did a quick search and came up with :

    Bearpark Welfare Unlucky In This 1950 Game – LINK

    Vi Godfrey Carr – From Portable Days From a book “From portable Days” by Violet Godfrey Carr – A Personal Account of Life in the Theatre as told to Neil McNicholas. – LINK I have a copy of this book if u are interested.

    An Ushaw Moor lad’s experience in the Cumberland Coalfield 1 of 2 – LINK

    Thanks for your POSTING and look forward to seeing more.

    Paul 🙂

  3. mandrews45
    May 13, 2012 at 10:28 am

    Hi Graham,
    In reply to your post about Margaret Wilkinson. Unfortunately my Margaret Wilkinson who was my great grandmother was born in 1852 or there abouts her parents were Robert and Elizabeth , but I know she had a brother called John, so if it was a family name it could be that further down the line your Margaret was born. I could be the same family. If you think so and have more information I would be very grateful to hear of it. I seem to have come to a stop with my great grandfather Thomas and am unable to find who his father Joseph was married to.
    Regards Mary

    • graham
      May 13, 2012 at 8:00 pm

      Where was margaret born ? do you know – I will take a look.

  4. mandrews45
    May 14, 2012 at 10:57 am

    According to my records Margaret was born in Whickham

    • graham
      May 14, 2012 at 9:01 pm

      Sorry looks like different wilkinsons, mine were originally in the Bacup , Lancs area and migrateted to NE circa 1850. Found yours on 1861 census.

  5. mandrews45
    May 15, 2012 at 11:30 am

    Ok Graham, thanks for looking into it

  6. April 2, 2013 at 12:50 am

    Dont know if it is worth much to you but there is a mention of wilkinson also in this recent post and it seems that this person is currently a councilor.

    Ushaw Moor Infant School

    • April 5, 2013 at 10:32 am

      Thankyou for your comment, my great grandmother was a Wilkinson,who married a Carr, so I don’t know if she would have relatives there, but if you have any more information of this counseller I would very much like to explore it. Thankyou

  7. kevin thompson
    December 23, 2013 at 9:53 pm

    my dad was george edward thompson,(cat thompson)was a boxer/piano plyer/singer/and deputy at esh winnning piti was born at esh i remember walking up the train line,to usher moor,the barber was open on sunday,basin cut,i was 8 when we moved to ollerton 1963,i remember winkies wood in esh the old rickrty rackerty bridge,pitmans path,the old haunted hs,lemington terrace,the man who built a swiming pool in his back garden open to public,harry bushbies shop,seeing summer holiday at pictures.we had miles of play ground at esh and ollerton,

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment