Home > Memories > Urgently Needed: Sack Bell And Get A Fresh Take

Urgently Needed: Sack Bell And Get A Fresh Take

It is true that in the past I have issued two false alarms about my departure from this site but this time it is absolutely on the money. It is time for me to go. Although it has been a lovely ten years in your company I have pressing needs in other corners of the galaxy well away from Ushaw Moor.

You see,  I have about twenty people to impress in a few months time. They expect fabulous food prepared by my wife and I that will amount to a miracle and a theatrical delight.The diners will need to switch off their mobiles just prior to the performance. I also have  essays to complete and they are very time consuming and rather different in nature to the material I have provided on this site! If that was not enough I have a family history project to crank up.

In my opinion the site does need one or more guest writers on the WordPress facility in order to keep the momentum going. I feel that in doing so such writers will help Paul in his sterling effort to keep the whole site fresh. As I see it would be useful if such a writer or writers could explore and prompt readers [rather more than I have done] regarding  the period from about 1960.

The preceding paragraph is just my opinion. When all it said and done it is Paul that owns and runs the site.

WB

 

 

Categories: Memories
  1. Michael Billing
    June 4, 2016 at 1:37 am

    Thank you Wilf for your articles which have been both interesting and informative. I grew up in Ushaw Moor from the mid 1950’s and leaving in the late1960’s, returning once in 2010 for a short visit to catch up with family. One never forgets their roots you might say. I was known as Michael West in those days.

  2. July 29, 2016 at 9:15 pm

    Hello Wilf. I have not been on this web site for a very long time. Helen has had three major operations on her spine in eighteen months and for most of the time I have been chief cook and bottlewasher. I was delighted to meet you and your good lady in the club that night. I had a good idea you would be there. I am really sorry to read that you have stopped contributing to the site. You seem to have a very full life and I wish to let you know that I have enjoyed reading your articles over the years. Your research is top class. I wish you all the best in your new undertakings (Masterchef?). Take care Wilf my best wishes to yourself and all your family. It is the end of an era. Brian Mc

  3. wilfb
    August 4, 2016 at 8:35 pm

    Hello Brian. Thank you for your comments. Master chef, certainly not, but rich promises have been made and have to be kept!

    In terms of writing I always had the quantity but you had the vivid detail that comes from personal experience. Thank you for the pleasure your articles have given me, and no doubt many others on this site. Keep up that writing when you have the time to do so.

    We both know that good health is so important and I hope you and your good wife Helen are able to experience better times going forward. You deserve it.
    WB

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment