Home > Memories > The Day I Became Old

The Day I Became Old

Was the day I read an advert that was selling the old currency coins; bags of threepenny bits, pennies, shillings and sixpence pieces. If I remember correctly the advert tried to attract me to the coins of the reign of George the Sixth – in a feel the coins and feel the people sort of way; it was all offered to me for a bit short of thirty quid.

Do I want to surrender anything near thirty quid for old coins that do not smile or wink at me? Coins from an era  I lived through?  No not really and I resent being reminded that people of  1990s vintage called Darren, Chelsea, Jack and Charlotte might take a different view.

WB

Categories: Memories
  1. Brian mc
    November 18, 2011 at 10:09 am

    My thoughts precisely Wilf.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment