Home > Memories > Dick Hope [Captain]

Dick Hope [Captain]

My grandfather captained Ushaw Moor cricket club’s first team for several years as well as working as an overman at the pit. As an inquisitive child I was known to browse about in my grandparents spick and span living room; one day I came across a copy of the rules of cricket issued by the games ruling body, the MCC. Dick explained some aspects of the rules which made a lasting impression on me. I am sure that he would have agreed with me that a fielder always knows if he [or she] catches a ball cleanly. They just do. I  played the game long enough to form that view with confidence.

I’d like to comment on that recent  limited over international game, where the bowler exercised his right to warn the batsman at the non striking end not to take liberties by galloping down the pitch prematurely. On being ignored the bowler was in order to subsequently run the England batsman out. Is it really correct that the English captain moaned about that? If he did, how pathetic is that?  And what, I wonder, would Dick have made of it?

Dick was the team’s wicket-keeper and on on one memorable occasion showed me his hands. One of his fingers was very bent and he put that down to the very fast deliveries from Ushaw Moor’s kingpin pace bowler that smacked in to his gloves with regularity. Spikings might well have been his name.

I know that I have recently mentioned Dick’s spat with a player called Trotter. Dick told him in no uncertain terms where to get off. I think it was a question concerning the light.Trotter was a school teacher at the time and I believe he taught locally. 


Categories: Memories
  1. June 17, 2014 at 6:42 am

    If a fielder grasps a ball before it makes contact with the ground and with the ball firmly in his grasp it touches the ground as he rolls. What then is the verdict?

  2. June 17, 2014 at 7:34 am

    Nicely selected query. Would you say he had control of his body? Rule 32. Decision not out but given with unease. Now tell us/confirm/deny!

  3. June 18, 2014 at 2:53 pm

    Totally reliant on you with this one Wilf. I have had a brief look at the rules but did not find them all to clear. ” Now did I catch that ball cleanly.?”

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply to wilfb Cancel reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s